Schedule of events | HBA

Schedule of events

If it’s springtime in New York, it must be WOTY.

All events take place on Thursday, 6 May. Schedule is subject to change.

9:00 AM ET (6:00 AM PT / 3:00 PM CET)
Platform opens – Embrace the limitless potential of virtual
Explore the platform and create your individual profile—optimize your experience!
Take this time to hear stories from HBA leaders, engage with sponsors, sign the digital guestbook for Sandra, Rod and Susan, and share your best selfie. Don't forget to set your intentions for the day and put a pep in your step with our 2021 Woman of the Year Spotify playlist and dive in.

10:00 AM ET (7:00 AM PT / 4:00 PM CET)
Face-to-Face micro-community meet-ups - Session 1
Meet and mingle with your friends and colleagues by joining a micro-community meet-ups. The groups below will be meeting during this timeslot: (come early - space is limited)

  • European Region
  • Mid-Atlantic Region
  • Midwest Region
  • New England Region
  • NY/NJ Region
  • Southeast Region  
  • Women of Color Affinity Group  
  • Women in Science Affinity Group  
  • Tomorrow’s Executives Affinity Group  
  • Fit to Lead Affinity Group  
  • Career Transformations Affinity Group
  • Ambassador Program
  • Membership
  • Gender Parity Collaborative

10:30 AM ET (7:30 AM PT / 4:30 PM CET)
Red carpet spotlights
We aren’t skipping red-carpet moments. Head to the main stage to see who’s who before the program begins at 11 AM ET sharp.

11:00 AM ET (8:00 AM PT / 5:00 PM CET)
Woman of the Year program
 

Welcome to WOTY with Simon T. Bailey

Simon T. Bailey
breakthrough strategist, and 2020 HBA Annual Conference keynote

Event Emcee


Christine Miller, HBA advisory board member
president and CEO, Melinta Therapeutics
 

Opening Remarks


Laurie Cooke
president and CEO, Healthcare Businesswomen’s Association
 

20th Anniversary of the Honorable Mentor Award – Celebration Toast
 

Reflections from the 2019 HBA Woman of the Year


Sharon Callahan
CEO, CDM and chief client officer, Omnicom Health Group 
 

2021 HBA Rising Stars and Luminaries Recognition (Companies A-F)
 

2021 HBA STAR Presentation


Susan Torroella
former president and CEO, ArmadaHealth
 

2021 HBA Rising Stars and Luminaries Recognition (Companies G-N)
 

HBA Chair Remarks
 

Shideh Sedgh Bina
HBA chair and founding partner, Insigniam


Break (10 Minutes)
 

Guest CEO Appearance


Albert Bourla
CEO, Pfizer Inc.
 

2021 HBA Honorable Mentor Award Presentation


Rod MacKenzie
chief development officer and EVP, Pfizer Inc.
 

2021 HBA Rising Stars and Luminaries Recognition (Companies O-Z)
 

Guest CEO Appearance
 


Bill Anderson
CEO, Roche Pharmaceuticals
 

2021 HBA Woman of the Year Award Presentation


Sandra J. Horning
former chief medical officer and head of global product development, Genentech and Roche
 

Closing Celebration
 

1:00 PM ET (10:00 AM PT / 7:00 PM CET)    
After-Party Celebration

It’s time to celebrate and connect with friends, new and old. Through Gatherly's one-of-a-kind video technology, attendees will engage in energizing relationship-building experiences unique to the HBA. Chrome browser is recommended. Check your system's settings and read about attendee best practices.

1:30 PM ET (10:30 AM PT / 7:30 PM CET)
Face-to-Face micro-community meet-ups - Session 2
Meet and mingle with your friends and colleagues by joining a micro-community meet-ups. The groups below will be meeting during this timeslot: (come early - space is limited)

  • Canada Region
  • Pacific Region  
  • Southwest Region  
  • Women in Healthcare Give Back Affinity Group
  • Membership
  • Ambassador Program
  • Gender Parity Collaborative
  • Corporate Partnerships
  • Educational Strategy