NAFE’s 2019 “Women of Excellence” Recognizes HBA’s President and CEO Laurie Cooke and HBA Member Nefertiti Greene

The Healthcare Businesswomen’s Association (HBA) is proud to share that the National Association of Female Executives (NAFE) is recognizing Laurie Cooke, our president and CEO, with a 2019 Women of Excellence Award. HBA member Nefertiti Greene, president, Ethicon Inc., Johnson & Johnson is also being honored as P&L Executive of the Year. 

The annual NAFE Women of Excellence Awards honor the achievements of women in their careers, businesses and communities. Winners are chosen for their vision, courage and proven success, as well as their generosity as demonstrated by how they help other women succeed. The honorees will share their stories at the NAFE Women of Excellence Awards Breakfast in New York City on 3 December. 

Laurie will receive the Healthcare Champion award and join the prestigious roster of 16 other women being recognized for other industry awards. As shared by Dr. Betty Spence, NAFE president, “NAFE’s 2019 accomplished honorees have not only succeeded in their own careers, but they also are tirelessly advocating for the advancement of other women—they exemplify how today’s women are assuming the role of advocates for gender equity.” 

Congratulations to Laurie, Nefertiti and the 2019 Women of Excellence recipients. 

This year’s honorees include:

Woman of Achievement
Tami Erwin, executive vice president and group CEO, Verizon Business, Verizon

Top Executive of the Year
Susan Dio, chairwoman and president, BP North America
Corporate Women’s Champion
Barbara Whye, vice president, human resources and chief diversity & inclusion officer, Intel
Community Service
Taffy Jo Mayers, head of middle markets underwriting transformation, Zurich North America
Diversity Innovator
Michelle Taylor-Jones, global diversity & inclusion leader, Dell Technologies

Entrepreneur Award
India Martin, principal, Leadership for Life

Healthcare Champion
Laurie Cooke, president and CEO, Healthcare Businesswomen’s Association

Legacy Award
Sonia Jackson Myles, founder, president and CEO, The Accord Group, LLC
Mentor Maven
Ann Nanda, senior vice president, strategic relationship management, Individual Solutions Group, Prudential
P&L Executive of the Year
Nefertiti Greene, president, Ethicon Inc., Johnson & Johnson

Cathinka Wahlstrom, senior managing director, Financial Services North America, Accenture

Sponsor Standard Bearer
Mary Springberg, senior vice president, Technology and Strategic Ventures, Allstate
STEM Champion for Women and Girls
Carol Malnati, vice president, global research and development, Medtronic
Rising Stars
Grace Hinton, senior manager, Protiviti
Danielle Pierce, founder, Women, Wealth and Real Estate
Allison Quintanilla Plattsmier, executive director, Jordan Thomas Foundation
More information about the program and the full list of biographies of the 2019 NAFE Women of Excellence can be found here.